Skip to content

Chakra Colours & Associated Senses

January 14, 2011

During this week’s classes we will be looking at the Chakra colours and their associated senses which I have detailed below.   The ancient texts state that yogis have seen theses Chakras during deep meditation and have described them as lotus flowers of the following colours:

  • Mooladhara Chakra – Four-petalled Red Lotus  (Sense of Smell)
  • Swadhisthana Chakra – Six-petalled Vermillion/ Orange Lotus  (Sense of Taste)
  • Manipura Chakra – Ten-petalled Yellow Lotus  (Sense of Sight)
  • Anahata Chakra – Twelve-petalled Green/ Blue Lotus  (Sense of Touch)
  • Visshudha Chakra – Sixteen-petalled Blue/Purple Lotus  (Sense of Hearing)
  • Ajna Chakra – Two-petalled Silver/ Violet Lotus  (Sense of Sight)
  • Sahasrara – Thousand-petalled White Lotus.

Without the practice of yoga it is said that the Chakras are like closed buds, generating just enough energy to keep the body and mind working.  During the classes we will be using Yoga asanas to awaken the  Chakras and facilitate healing, vitalising the body, mind and spirit.

During the lesson we will also be working of Kapotasana, the Pigeon.  This pose stretches the spine and shoulders.  It also helps to regulate hormonal secretions.

If you are unable to attend regular classes you may wish to consider private tuition which is available locally in Cheshire and South Manchester.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: