Skip to content

The Chakras – Vital Organs & Bija Mantras

January 21, 2011

During this week’s lesson we will be looking at the vital organs and mantras associated with the Chakras.  The Chakras are energy centres which distribute prana (energy) throughout the body and to the body’s vital organs.  The Chakras are not physical although they do influence the body’s organic processes.  The vital organs associated with each Chakra are as follows:

  • Mooladhara Chakra – Lower Colon
  • Svadhisthana Chakra – Reproductive Organs, Large Intestine, Pelvis, Kidneys, Bladder, Lymphatic System and all the body’s fluids.
  • Manipura Chakra – Digestive System, Stomach, Liver, Gallbladder, Kidney, Pancreas, Spleen, Adrenal Glands, Small Intestine, Lower Spine and Sympathetic Nervous System.
  • Anahata Chakra – Heart, Lungs, Brochial Tubes, Thymus Gland, Immune System and Skin.
  • Vishudda Chakra – Larynx.
  • Ajna Chakra – Brain, Nervous System, Eyes, Ears, Nose, Sinuses and Face.

Each Chakra spins at a different rate like a whirlpool, creating sound vibrations.  The lower Chakras rotate at a slower rate than the higher ones, generating different sounds and different physical and psychological attributes according to the vibration they produce.  The sounds associated with each Chakra are known as Bija Mantras and are as follows:

  • Mooladhara Chakra – LAM
  • Svadhisthana Chakra – VAM
  • Manipura Chakra – RAM
  • Anahata Chakra – YAM
  • Vishuddha Chakra – HAM
  • Ajna Chakra – OM

This week we will be using Yoga asanas together with the Bija Mantras to awaken and balance the Chakras to facilitate healing and help balance the body, mind and spirit.  We will also be working on the posture Ardha Matsyendrasana, the Half Twist.  This posture aligns the spine, builds strength in the trunk, opens the shoulders and massages the internals organs, increasing energy levels.


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: